FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

November 16, 2017 3:30 P.M. 6 5:00 P.M. Smith-Hutson Building room 300

Members Present (15). Donald Albert (COSET), Maria Botero (CHSS), Jonathan Breazeale (COBA), Donald Bumpass (COBA), James Crosby (CHSS), Brandy Doleshal (COSET), Andrea Foster (COE), Donovan Haines (COSET), William Jasper (COSET), Bobby LaRue (CJ), Kenneth McIntyre (CHSS), Melinda Miller (COE), Stephen Rapp (CHSS), Stacy Ulbig (CHSS), Anthony Watkins (FAMC),

Members Not Present (14). William Carroll (CHSS), Randall Garner (CJ), Santosh Kumar (COBA), Vlad Radoias (COBA), Burcu Ates (COE), Helen Berg (COE), Nancy Stockall (COE), Ryan Zapalac (COHS), Madhusudan Choudhary (COSET), Renee James (COSET), Eric Marsh (FAMC), Karen Miller (FAMC), Kevin Clifton (FAMC), Michael Hanson (NGL)

Called to Order.

3:32 PM, Smith-Hutson Building room 300 by Chair Jonathan Breazeale.

Approval of Minutes.

A quorum was not present at the start of the meeting. A vote to approve the November 2 minutes was not taken.

Ej cktøu'Tgr qt v.

Topics addressed included; Electronic Faculty Review Portfolios Hazelwood/UNT DO School ORP Supplement ó Employer Contribution Academic vs. Business CAD meeting on November 8

Electronic Faculty Review Portfolios

There is still significant confusion regarding how this process will be implemented, who will have access as well as the degree of access. There seems to be inconsistency across colleges. It appears that the rollout of the electronic portfolio wkmlpqvldglkplufplufplyglwglwglwkgtukvfoul established promotion/review timeline.

ORP Supplement ó Employer Contribution

New information shows that several Texas universities offer the full 8.5% ORP match, including the entire UT system, the THECB, and some two year schools.

Old Business.

A motion was made to approve policies reviewed by senate during summer 2017.

- (1) APS 801007 ó Courses and Grades Transferred from Other Colleges
- (2) APS 921007 ó Academic Advisory Councils
- (3) APS 110511 ó Appointment and Evaluation of Chairs
- (4) APS 800521 ó Dept/School Academic Distinction Program Policy
- (5) APS 811006 ó Disabled Student Policy
- (6) APS 800215 ó Faculty Administrative Leave Program
- (7) APS 950601 ó Members not Employed by SHSU Serving on Thesis Cmtes.
- (8) APS 861001 ó Student Absences on Religious Holy Days
- (9) APS 840901 ó Early Retirement Program for University Faculty
- (10) APS 840606 ó Library Use Policy
- (11) APS 800401 ó Class Attendance

As a quorum of senators had become available, a vote was taken and the policies were unanimously approved.

Senator Bobby LaRue briefed the senate on his campus safety walk with the the Vice Provost and Student Government Association in effort to identify possible safety improvements for pedestrians.

New Business.

A senator expressed concern about failed chairs or other administrators transitioning in to senior of o kpkntcvkxg"r qukkqpu"qp"eco r wu0'Kou"pqv'ergct"vj cv'vj g"wpkxgtukv{"ku"r tqo qvkpi "vj g"dguv."o quv' accomplished faculty contributors to these leadership positions. Other senators conveyed previous occurrences from their colleges. In addition, how candidates are selected or recommended is not clear to senators.

A concern about the participation of Associate Deans or other administrators in DPTAC or faculty meetings was also expressed. A request was made to discuss these concerns with the Provost.

Adjournment: 5:00 PM