Internal Guidelines for Faculty Compensation on Distance Education

The discussion on faculty compensation for distance education began with a request to compensate a faculty member in the College of Business Administration. The Council of Academic Deans recommended forming a committee to study distance education guidelines for compensation on August 23, 2000. The committee was composed of Brian Chapman, Robert Bruce, Steve Cuvelier, James Van Roekel, and Mitch Roth. Dean

complete bigger projects. He stated that policies are inherently different now than in the past. Before, clear policies were passed with the intention that they wouldn't change. Now, policies are passed that may change even within two weeks. Change is a positive and constant process.

Senators discussed the summer grant changes, reiterating that the old summer grant program was a good program that helped recruit young faculty. The summer grants also helped faculty produce books, which allowed them to secure federal funding now. Dr. Payne stated that the funds were initially meant to be used to secure more grants and that the Closing the Gaps initiative affected how the funds needed to be used.

Hiring Procedures

Senators asked whether the university has a policy regarding appointments of deans. Senators expressed concern that deans, chairs, and faculty were being appointed without searches. It was decided that the Faculty Senate would look at the policies regarding appointments. Dr. Payne agreed to raise the issue of hiring practices at the Council of Deans. He stated that chairs serve at the discretion of deans.

Senators asked how merit was decided for chairs and other administrators. Dr. Payne stated that merit varies from college to college, but that he looks at merit recommendations to insure there is no gender and racial discrimination.

Dr. Payne agreed to meet with the senators who were unable to attend due to the grant writing workshop.

Chair's Report

Chair Muehsam reported that she met with President Gaertner to discuss the report on reduction in teaching load. Dr. Gaertner indicated that he supported a reduction in teaching load for those faculty actively involved in research. The President also indicated that he would appoint the ad hoc committee to study the issue and that he believed it was a good possibility that we could make this a reality at SHSU.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of October 3, 2002 were not approved because a quorum was not present by the end of the meeting.

Future Business

The Faculty Senate will need to recommend guidelines for the additional research funds set aside to continue the old grant program.

Respectfully submitted,

Kandi Tayebi, Chair-Elect

*The University Research Council consisted of Alessandro Bonanno (Dean nominee) Arts and Sciences, Sanjay Mehta (Faculty Senate nominee) Business Administration,

James Marquet (Faculty Senate nominee) Criminal Justice, Sylvia Taube (Dean nominee) Education and Applied Science, Benny Arney (Faculty Senate nominee) Arts and Sciences, Charles Friel (Dean nominee) Criminal Justice, William Kilbourne (Dean nominee) Business Administration, Beverly Irby (Faculty Senate nominee) Education and Applied Science, Balasundram Maniam (Faculty Senate nominee) Business Administration, and Christopher Wilson (Faculty Senate nominee) Education and Applied Science.