FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

12 April 2018 3:30 P.M. – 5:00 P.M. Austin Hall

Members Present (23).

Donald Albert (COSET), Maria Botero (CHSS), Jonathan Breazeale (COBA), Brandy Doleshal (COSET), Diane Dowdey (CHSS), Andrea Foster (COE), Donovan Haines (COSET), Michael Hanson (NGL), Renee James (COSET), William Jasper (COSET), Santosh Kumar (COBA), Bobby LaRue (CJ), Karen Miller (FAMC), Melinda Miller (COE), Vlad Radoias (COBA), D.T. Ratnapradia (COHS), Nancy Stockall (COE), William Carroll (CHSS), Kenneth McIntyre (CHSS), Donald Bumpass (COBA), Burcu Ates (COE), Ryan Zapalac (COHS), Kevin Clifton (FAMC)

Members Not Present (06).

James Crosby (CHSS), Stephen Rapp (CHSS), Randall Garner (CJ), Madhusudan Choudhary (COSET), Eric Marsh (FAMC), Anthony Watkins (FAMC)

Called to Order.

3:30 PM, Austin Hall room 300 by Chair Jonathan Breazeale.

Approval of Minutes.

Approved with unanimous in favor with two friendly emendations.

Guest. Dr. Richard Eglsaer, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Tenure and Promotion.

- # - Z c f
(# + Z c f
: A / A 7
' # ' Z c f
' # ' Z c f
7 C < G
\$ # % Z c f
% # % Z c f

7 C 9

& # & Z c f (# (Z c f

7 < GG

7 C G 9 H * # * Z c f

* # * Z c f

Library

1/1

One senator expressed a concern about associate professors who are department chairs assessing and casting a vote in awarding full professor rank. This situat

3.01 - Proposal that penalty can be imposed by the teacher and accepted by the student without involving the chair. Faculty member must communicate the penalty via writing and give them a copy of their appeal rights. The penalty will be imposed prior