Faculty Senate Minutes April 14, 2005

Senators Present: David Bailey;Christopher Baldwin;Jim Carter;Steven Cuvelier;Peggy DeMers;Stacey Edmonson;Mark Frank;Mary Gutermuth;Marsha Harman;Lady Jane Hickey;Joan Hudson; Paul Loeffler;Holly Miller;Philip Morris;Debra Price;Gary Smith;Christopher White;Patricia Williams.

Senators Absent: Jim DeShaw (professional conflict);Deborah Hatton (illness);David Hendersonj (illness);Joe Kirk (professional conflict);Gerlad Kohers (professional conflict);Tom Kordinak (professional conflict);Bill Lutterschmidt (professional conflict);Valerie Muehsam (professional conflict).

Chair Harman called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Corrections to Faculty Senate Minutes of Feb. 24, 2005:

Chair Harman requested that the Faculty Senate Minutes of Feb 24, 2005 be corrected to accurately reflect her charge to the Faculty Affairs Committee concerning Freedom of Information requests currently occurring at SHSU.

The Faculty Senate agreed to Chair Harman's request for a correction. Consequently, the following language should be regarded as a correction of the next to the last paragraph of the Faculty Senate Minutes of February 24, 2005:

n(e e.6a nta)To)0of Fede "Faculty Affairs was also assigned the taHickey;y 24, 2005:

Chair Frank also reported that the University Affairs Committee recommended an annual college level award to recognize teaching accomplishments and innovations. This award would operate similarly to the research award described above. The University Affairs Committee also recommended an annual college level award to recognize service contributions. This award would operate similarly to the two awards described above.

The Faculty Senate voted to accept the recommendations of the University Affairs Committee and to support annual college level awards on research, teaching, and service excellence as contained in the report. There was one abstention. These recommendations will be transmitted to Provost Payne.

Senator Debra Price then reported to the Senate on a variety of business conducted at the previous meeting of the Academic Policy Council. Senator Price attended as a representative of the Faculty Senate due to conflicts with the timing of the APC meeting and the schedules of Chair Harman and Chair elect Carter.

Chair Harman then reported to the Faculty Senate that a new policy was being drafted to define how and under what circumstances faculty members would be assigned a three course workload or a four course workload. Chair Harman noted that this policy would probably be ready to be implemented by the next fall semester. Chair Harman then appointed a committee to be chaired by Chair elect Jim Carter to participate in the drafting of the new workload policy. The Faculty Workload Committee consists of Patricia Williams, Steve Cuvelier, Joan Hudson, and Lady Jane Hickey.

Chair Harman noted that the time for Faculty Senate elections is approaching and as a result she appointed a Faculty Senate Elections Committee to be chaired by Patricia