Guest Speakers

Texas Faculty Association (TFA)

Dr. Charles Zucker, Director of TFA, shared the 16-year history of TFA and its association with TSTA and NEA and its mission to represent faculty concerns at the legislative level. He believes there is a strong relationship between TFA and faculty senates and they can complement one another since faculty senates can act where TFA cannot, and TFA can act where faculty senates cannot. Dr. Zucker maintained that faculty senates increasingly were connected with TFA, especially in the UT System. He advocates that the Faculty Senate be empowered, faculty advocacy organizations be a presence on campus, and publishing faculty and administrative salaries be published to display the discrepancies.

Mr. Robert Jackson discussed due process, the importance of following rules and procedures, and the right for faculty to be represented. He indicated that non-tenured track faculty also has the right to grieve non-renewal. Mr. Jackson maintained that the *Anti-Golden Parachute Law* was an important milestone so that administrators could not take their salaries with them when they returned to the classrool9caeeE63rool9caeeE63rool9a etu

a critical role in protecting academic freedom. It is more of a communr4p 953.33ar.69with other organizworkjs0011 12 ETEMC P MCID 18BDC BT/TT1 andf 14 0ro

- Senator Debra Price was charged with determining how much it would cost to replicate the Post Tenure survey.
- The Centennial Scholarship Committee will be sending out a campus-wide e-mail soliciting nominations for scholarship recipients.
- A suggestion was made that the Faculty Senate give a yearly award to one Department Chair and one upper level Administrator in the form of a plaque, gift

faculty. He was encouraged to talk with Dr. Thibodeaux. Chair Tayebi will take this issue to Dean Thibideaux, Dean Chapman, and Provost Payne if the Mass Communication faculty drafts a plan that has support from the faculty.

• The Library Survey has been distributed and returned completed surveys are appreciated.

Respectfully submitted,

Marsha Harman, Chair-Elect*

*Thanks to Senator Debra Price for taking the minutes of the meeting in Senator Harman's absence.