# FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY September 9, 2009

### Members Present:

Chad Hargrave; Renee James; Sheryl Murphy-MariPaul Loeffler; Bria Oetiker; Brian Loft; Bill Jasper; Mark Frank; Gerald Kohers; Rebecca Bustamante; Leonard Breen; Melinda Miller; Mack Hines; Donna Desforges; acy Steele; Deborah Hattobarci Hill; Erin Cassidy.

### Members Absent:

Emmette Jackson; Hee-jong Joo; Sam Solu Dyanald Bumpass Bill Brewer; Andrew Lopenzina.

### Call to Order:

Chairperson Edmonson called **the**eting to order at 3:30pm.

# Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the May 7, 2009 meeting were approved as submitted.

# Awards Ceremony:

Senators completing their terms were reczediby Provost Payne, and the new senators were welcomed by Chairperson Edmonson.

- x Out-going Senators: Bill Lutterschmidt; Yahang; Mark Frank\*; John Newbold; Bill Edgington; Debra Price; Trasteele\*; Tamara Waggenerracy Bilsing; Ann Jerabek (\* Re-elected for a subsequent three-year term)
- x New Senators: Chad Hargrave; Renee Jahles; jong Joo; Donald Bumpass; Rebecca Bustamante; Leonard Green; Mack HinDonna Desforges; Erin Cassidy
- x Senate Administrator Awards were presenting Chairperson Edmonson. In her address, she explained that our "Friends of the Sehawards recognize individuals in leadership positions who have been exceptionally sutiperof the faculty and who have gone above and beyond in contributing true academic life of the university.
  - f The Departmental Chair Award was pereted to Dr. Debra Andrist from the Department of Foreign Languages.
  - f The award recognizing those in upper adstration was presented to Provost David Payne.
- x Greetings on behalf of the president weiffered by Dr. Payne; Dr. Gaertner had been regretfully detained. Provost Payne relative administration's appreciation for the harmonious and friendly relationship that been maintained with the senate. He stressed the important and vital rolettoe senate on campus and his personal appreciation for our efforts. Following hismarks, Dr. Payne presented an award to Dr. Edmonson in recognition of her term in seevas senate chair. Dr. Payne commented that she was a wonderful leader and alteren a pleasure to work with. He also congratulated her on her recent promotion Acting-Chair within the College of Education.

### Old Business:

Chairperson Edmonson provide report on the status resolutions and recommendations made during the 2008-2009 senate resolutions are status report is included as an attachment to the minutes.

### **New Business:**

Passing of the Gavel

The traditional gift exchange between 2008-2009 Chairperson, Dr. Stacey Edmonson, and the 2009-2010 Chairperson, Dr. Paul Loeffler, marthædtransition of the respective senates and the induction of the new senate chair.

### Introduction of New and Old Senators

Special Guest:Dr. Debra Andrist, Chair of the epartment of Foreign Languages. Dr. Andrist reviewed for the senators the role oreign languages on campus and the many new efforts and activities. These include the introductor new course offerings, such as ASL and Arabic, as well as efforts to provide outreactour students, such as on-line German and Spanish, and "practice tables" manned by studes to their service-learning course requirements. Her detailed handout is included the second attachment to the minutes.

### Election of Chair-Elect:

Dr. Mark Frank, from the Department of Economics and International Business, was unanimously elected as chair-elect for 2009-2010 year, and as chair for the 2010-2011 year.

# Committee Assignments:

Chairs for each committee were determined hort meetings. Academic Affairs – Renee James; Committee on Committees – Gerald Kohresulty Affairs – Brian Loft; University Affairs – Melinda Miller.

Special Senate Election

Due to resignations and a sabbatical, the Co

## Senate Input:

- x Several senators reported growing faculty **cons** related to the limited availability of on-campus parking during peak-demand hourse Faculty Affairs Committee agreed to consider complains related three shortage of available fatouand staff parking, as well as the cost of parking in the Parking Gora The University Affairs Committee agreed to consider complaints regarding the traffin Avenue I betweethe Lee Drain Building and the College of Humanities and Socialences, and Avenue between the Parking Garage and the Music Building.
- x A general discussion ensued over the 2009 mandigetstments. Concerns were raised over the lack of clarity in the ideria for allocation of these funds.
- x Senator Murphy-Manley raisetble issue of tuition support if or hildren of faculty and staff who attend Sam Hotoon State University.
- x After a general discussion, the Faculty Affairs Committee agreed to consider concerns over the transparency and administration the Faculty Excellence Awards.
- x Chairperson Loeffler raised concerns overlated of involvement of the Faculty Senate in the review of policies put forth by the university.

Senate adjourned at 5:10pm

Respectfully Submitted, Paul Loeffler, Chair Mark Frank, Chair-Elect

