## Draft

## Faculty Senate Minutes, September 15, 2005

**Senators Present**: David Bailey; Jim Carter; Jerry Cook; Doug Constance; Peggy DeMers; James DeShaw; Jerry Dowling; Stacey Edmonson; Mark Frank; Mary Gutermuth; Lady Jane Hickey; Joan Hudson; Roseanne Keathley; Gerald Kohers; Paul Loeffler; Brian Loft; Philip Morris; Valerie Muehsam; Debra Price; Christopher White; Patricia Williams.

Senators Absent: Christopher Baldwin; Steven Cuvelier

Chair Harman called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

## **Faculty Senate Minutes of May 2005:**

Minutes for the May meeting were unavailable for approval.

Chair Harman introduced the winners of the Faculty Senate Leadership Awards and presented the recipients with plaques. Winners were: Roger Abshire, Chair, Dean Dean Lewis and Ann Holder.

Chair Harman recognized the service of James Carter and thanked hi

approval process is being streamlined. The first review will be done earlier in the semester for course name and number changes and will not have to go through further review. This will allow those changes to be quickly integrated into the course catalogue. Only substantive program requests and new courses required by those requests will go through the longer process.

Glenn Sanford reported that there are 151 new honors students on campus, up from 62 the previous year.

SHSU is now listed in the Houston phone book with a 281 area code. Individuals will be able to dial several numbers using the 281 area code and not incur long distance charges. Additionally, we can now dial certain sections of communities with 713 and 281 area codes from campus without paying long dit wdisth