## FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

10 April 2014 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Austin Hall

Members present: Nancy Baker (CHSS); Tracy Bilsing (CHSS); Jonathan Breazeale (COBA); Don Bumpass (COBA); Madhusudan Choudhary (COS); Donna Cox (COE); Mark Frank (COBA); Richard Henriksen (COE); Joan Hudson (COS); C. Renée James (COS); Mark Klespis (COS); Paul Loeffler (COS); Dennis Longmire (COCJ); David McTier (COFAMC); Lisa Shen (NGL); Stacy Ulbig (CHSS); Mary Anne Vincent (COHS); Anthony Watkins (COFAMC)

Members not present: Helen Berg (COE); Kevin Clifton (COFAMC); Tom Cox (CHSS); James Crosby (CHSS); Randall Garner (COCJ); James Landa (CHSS); Hayoung Lim (COFAMC); Jeff Littlejohn (CHSS); Sheryl Murphy-Manley (COFAMC); Diana Nabors (COE); Dwayne Pavelock (COS); Debra Price (COE); Doug Ullrich (COS); Pam Zelbst (COBA)

Called to order: 3:30 p.m. in Austin Hall by Chair Renee James

One senator	commented	that there is	s a process	for a faculty	member to	address	being

this pressure any stronger than it has to be.

One senator talked about an attempt to deprive him/her of tenure due to his/her refusal to engage in the routine of a group prayer before meetings. This senator worries that collegiality as a separate category could be abused for this purpose.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:59 pm.

The next (and final spring semester) meeting is on April 24.

Revised 04-24-2014, 9:05 am

```
! "##$\\&\&\" ('! "##$\\&\\)'*&+",\\'
April 10, 2014
```

## **Recommended Position on Collegiality**

We support the AAUP's position on collegiality (<a href="http://www.aaup.org/report/collegiality-criterion-faculty-evaluation">http://www.aaup.org/report/collegiality-criterion-faculty-evaluation</a>) and recommend removing Collegiality as a category of performance from the *Faculty Reappointment*, *Tenure*, *and Promotion Policy* (SHSU Academic Policy Statement 900417).

Collegiality measures a faculty's

**C** February 28 – March 1, 2014

•