SHSU Faculty Senate Minutes

Sam Houston State University 24 September 2015 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. LSC 304

Chair Lisa Shen called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

In attendance: Debbi Hatton; Diana Dowdey; Jason Payton; Nancy Baker; Stacy Ulbig; Tracy Bilsing; Don Bumpass; Jonathan Breazeale; Mark Frank; Andrea Foster; Diana Nabors; Karla Eidson; Melinda Miller; Karen Miller; Sheryl Murphy-Manley; James Landa; Mark Klespis; Bill Jasper; Lisa Shen; Madhu Choudhary; Douglas Ullrich; Dwayne Pavelock; William Lutterschmidt

Absent: Joan Bytheway; Randy Garner; Irfan Ahmed; Donna Cox; David McTier; Gary Oden; Jeff Littlejohn; John Domino

Approval of Minutes

The approval of minutes of the September 10th meeting has been postponed.

Special Guests

Lisa

that they think appointment to graduate status should be automatic, since every new tenure track hire has an appropriate terminal degree. It was also stated that adjunct professors could not be granted graduate status, but that there may be times when that is appropriate. Chair Lisa Shen stated that Graduate Studies is going through a structural change, and that they are currently looking for a new Dean of Graduate Studies. She stated that Graduate Studies had asked for Senate to review the policy, which is set to be revised as part of the restructuring process, and make recommendations.

A senator asked if it were possible for a faculty member to serve as doctoral faculty even if their department did not have a doctoral program. Senator Jonathan Breazeale stated that it was a common practice for faculty members who served in a department that did not have graduate programs to serve on committees. Senator Bill Jasper stated that in certain cases, adjunct faculty with terminal degrees should be allowed the experience of serving on a doctoral committee. The committee then asked Chair Lisa Shen what they should do next. She said that Senate could endorse AA's report, which will then be shared with Graduate Studies. Chair Shen also reassured senators that after Graduate Studies revises the policy, the document will then be submitted to both the Council of Academic Deans and Senate for approval again before the changes are finalized.

A motion was made to accept and endorse the AA report. The motion passed unanimously.

Faculty Affairs – Conflict of Interest Policy (HR E-8)

Committee member Senator Nancy Baker introduced the FA report on the policy's treatment of consensual relationships. Senator Baker stated that the policy included a clause stating that faculty members should voluntarily share relationship status with their chair if there was a situation in which one person in the relationship would have to evaluate the other person in the relationship. The committee stated that they disagree with this. Additionally, the Faculty Affairs Report listed several oppositions to the Conflict of Interest Policy. The Senate is not willing to accept the Policy as it currently reads.

A motion was made to endorse and the FA report and submit it to the Provost and Human Resources. The motion passed with one opposed and no abstentions.

New Business

Academic Grievance Procedures for Students (APS 900832)

The policy was submitted to Senate part of the standard review process for academic policies. Senators reviewed the two proposed policy edits, which were made to ensure consistency of the policy language and to reflect the current academic programs on campus.

A motion was made to approve the proposed policy changes. The motion passed unanimously.

Designation of Distinguished Professors (APS 860425)

Senators also began the review of policy 860425, which included significant revisions. A number of senators voiced concerns about the proposed changes, which, if approved,

would greatly raise the eligibility standards of the distinguished professor candidates. Some of the proposed changes included removing all faculty with associate professor ranking from the consideration of distinguished professor, and requiring faculty with full professor ranking to hold the rank for at least 5 years before being considered. After further discussion, senators agreed that it would be valuable to invite members of the Distinguished Professors Review Committee, who authored of changes, to visit Senate and